Darktable portable version (win10)

hello,
I would like to know if there is a portable version of darktable.
Unfortunately I’m using a PC without admin right and I’m unable to install it.
Kind Regards,
Luigi

afaik there is no portable version of dt. check out RawTherapee:
RawTherapee Portable (advanced RAW image processor) | PortableApps.com (this is not the newest version though)

Just putting it out there: I would prefer a portable version as well! The current uninstaller isn’t clean enough for my tastes; i.e., I have to reboot for files to completely disappear (they are permission-less otherwise).

hi, thank you for your suggestion.
I’ve a question.
I’m quite new with darktable and I’m absolutely new in rawtherapee.
I know quite well lightroom, but since my version is very old, I would like to move to an opensource platform.
My question is… coming from lightroom, which one from your point of view is better to approach? DarkTable or RawTherapee?

Thank you in advance
Luigi

Hi Luigi,

I’ve been in a similar place and I can share my experience.

First, although rawtherapee and darktable do the same thing (raw processing) they are doing it differently. There are some threads here about comparisons and differences between them and maybe they can help you choose.

In my case, I just tried both and decided to use them both. Depending on what I plan for a picture, the workflow from one or the other fits better.

So I can suggest you to try both of them for a few pictures and decide for yourself which fits better to your desired workflow.

And have fun during this time!

2 Likes