Batch process images to apply levels adjustement to portion of each image

Hello, I’m new member and first post. Please forgive if this message is posted inappropriately.

I am brand new to G’MIC and came across it while searching for a solution to apply a ‘levels adjustment’ to a portion of an image in Gimp. The challenge is that I have a few hundred images I need to apply the exact same levels adjustment to.

Essentially I have a standard levels setting I want to apply to the top 20% of 100s of images.

I have looked at BIMP and although it allows me to apply an adjustment across multiple images, I can’t see any way to define only a portion of the image to apply the effect on. I believe I need to somehow select a portion of the image, then apply the adjustment/filter. I see no way to do this in Gimp.

I’m wondering if this can be accomplished using G’MIC. Appreciate any advice anyone can offer. Thanks.

@Michael_H Welcome to the forum! I started with a similar problem. At the time, I used ImageMagick. These past few years, I discovered G’MIC CLI. Now, I am writing commands for it! :slight_smile:

Yes, G’MIC CLI (command line) is the way to go. I suggest you give it a try, although command line might be a little daunting if you aren’t familiar with non-GUI environments.

I have several questions for you. The more info you provide the more we can assist you. First, what OS, GIMP and G’MIC (plugin) versions are you using? And where did you get the latter two from? Second,

What do you mean by that? As in intensity? For what purpose? Are you a photographer, researcher, restoring old photos, or something else?