clipping color channel, or what - how to solve this ?

Before I begin, I’d like to mention the images below are licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike1 (please help me correcting this expression if inadequately quoted)

I am a amateur/beginner using darktable 3.2.1 (under Windows) on Fujifilm X-trans files. I have 5 years of experience with raw file editing on LR 5.7. Sooner or later I’ll buy a new camera. So I will need a newer version of a raw editor, also sooner or later. Hence I decided to try darktable and hope to stay with it.

The picture and 2 sidecar files attached have been developed respectively using a scene-referred workflow and a display referred workflow in darktable. The result I have now is reasonably pleasing since I exercised drawn and parametric masks extensively. However I cannot get one detail solved. It is the line of red neon light at the left middle right below the long line of daylight fluorescent line. Changing the input profile into “linear prophoto rgb” improved it. The original raw file reveals the detail better. Also my (also attached) former creamy LR-developed jpg reveals it better. I guess the issue is clipping color channels, but I don’t know how to solved this.

Thanks,
Marc.
MAC25640.RAF (32.2 MB) MAC25640.RAF.xmp (30.0 KB) MAC25640_03.RAF.xmp (30.2 KB)

I only see one attached jpeg, did you mean to attach more?

Sorry,
I can see my raf (Fuijifilm raw) and 2 xmp files included, and can download them. Not sure why you can’t see it.
Marc.

The probem is that the highlights from the lamps are blown. Here an example using the tone equalizer one your second sidecar file.

MAC25640.RAF.xmp (29.3 KB)

My interpretation.

MAC25640.RAF.xmp (17.8 KB)

1 Like

Hey Thomas, THANK YOU.
While I have been using the tone equalizer before for shadow recovery and landscape lighting changes, I know appreciate its capabilities for highlight recovery.