Dark sunset portrait - noisy t-shirt

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to photography and darktable. I got my first camera in October last year. Have been consuming all sorts of youtube videos and whatnot since - trying to figure out how to actually use the thing :slight_smile:

I use Linux as my main driver so DT made sense as a raw processor. I’m still figuring out how to use it, as it seems are most people! I tend to end up spending faaar too much time on single photos, coming back to them time and again and restarting the edit.

I took this pic a couple weeks ago and have been fiddling with it ever since. I struggle on sunset-y type shots, and never manage to get the balance between the sky and the foreground correct. If I get the exposure of the foreground right I lose all the colours in the sky, and if I just bring down the highlights too much the image ends up looking kinda weird and flat.

edit: uploads are working now for me.

P1050981.RW2 (18.5 MB)

P1050981_06.RW2.xmp (15.3 KB)

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!
This is my edit with darktable 3.6. Mainly exposure, tone equalizer, color balance rgb and filmic rgb to adjust forground and background.
Please have a look at the attached sidecar file.

P1050981.RW2.xmp (15.5 KB)

3 Likes

My attempt with the latest GIT version of 3.7.

P1050981.RW2.xmp (18.1 KB)

Masked local contrast on the sky, masked exposure increase on the subject and background. A bit of fiddling with filmic and colour balance and then use the “diffuse or sharpen” module to provide a little sharpening.

2 Likes

For everyone beeing curious, this is the edit of @Jragon:

I’m getting similar results like @Thomas_Do and @epeeist. Brightening up the foreground that much doesn’t look right for me.

4.RW2.xmp (21.6 KB)

sunset.t-shirt.xmp (16.6 KB) darktable 3.7

Welcome to pixls and thanks for sharing this image.

3 Likes