Darktable hangs in lighttable > import > either option

Been doing so since using it after update of Arch (currently 6.2.7-arch1-1) on Saturday evening, so probably Sunday or Monday.

Lots of coincidences, so not convinced it is a darktable problem, simply trying here to narrow it down. I update Arch usually every Sunday but did so on Saturday this week. So whatever happened could have happened any time during the past ten days or so. I note there was a DT updated release 10 days ago.

But there have also been problems seen reported online regarding Gnome Desktop Manager, my GUI handler of choice. Also, glitches can and do happen with a release update. So it could be Arch or the Linux kernel itself.

Waded through the journal entries for the system, couldn’t see anything obvious there but then I’m no expert. Hundreds of entries for a GDM glitch but nothing to say what it is affecting other than being a nuisance.

Ran darktable -d all which gave out all the entries for /usr/src/debug/darktable/darktable-4.2.1 without revealing any clues other than this, the final line, which may or may not be useful:

66.065746 [sql] /usr/src/debug/darktable/darktable-4.2.1/src/common/database.c:3838, function dt_database_optimize(): exec "PRAGMA optimize"

Any useful pointers gratefully received. I’ve loaded thousands of images onto this, my newly built (end Nov - early Dec) midi tower PC and was happily pushing them into the library when this fault occurred.

The log line is your database getting optimized. Killing darktable while that is running isn’t great. Depending on the size of your db it could take quite a few minutes.

You can turn off or change the the optimization in the preferences.

Thanks @paperdigits. I wanted to add images to the darktable library, not to kill darktable so this still leaves me bemused. Nothing like it has never occurred in the past with DT.