Discerning features

I am not good with colors or complexity :confused:, so I manipulate images to better observe their features. In general, my approach is random and inefficient – where did my life the time go? Beep hobby! :blush:

One strategy is to convert color images to gray-scale or binary (color-to-gray, to-channels or to-scales). Isolating features in this way can also help us visualize the impact of noise, blur, etc., on the image and develop masks for image enhancement, etc. However, complexity reduction often comes at a price, where we can get false positives or negatives.

This is a broad topic with many entry points. Let us begin with the following:

In particular, I am looking for ideas and techniques that are accurate yet simple to understand, and work even when contrast is low and noise is high.

I welcome everyone’s input, though I encourage @David_Tschumperle and G’MIC devs/users to offer their take on the subject since I tend to use G’MIC (command-line). It would be a treat if someone could make a G’MIC command for color-to-gray (PCA) or CLAHE, or point to related commands/filters. Thanks!

2 Likes

Interesting that I have the opposite problem… I find it difficult to visually assess brightness/contrast, which lead to the “image infomap” G’MIC filter; it shows tones in spectral form, translating tones to colours (a very simple thing to do). Of no use at all to anyone with colour blindness but I suppose it could be done with two instead of three primaries.

I likely have a slight case of deuteranomaly but I generally have problems processing and interpreting visual information. It takes much more time to identify and discriminate.