Do you ever delete digital negatives?

Hello,
I have noticed that if I keep all digital negatives I run out of disk space regularly.
So I am thinking to keep RAW files for the best pictures only (3-5 star ratings in my case) and maybe for the pics I want to play with in future.
Do you think it is a good idea? I just don’t see a point keeping files I will hardly ever touch.

PS I am not a professional photographer so all the pictures I make are either family events or pictures of some soft of a hobby / DIY.

Not only do I keep them, but I back them up. I tend to delete maybe 2%.

Likewise, I also back up my RAW files. I only delete complete failures (such as blank frames). Once a year – or more often if I have been very busy – I transfer all my pix to an external hard drive.

Because I am also not a professional I do not feel it necessary to sing the mantra “off site, interstate, overseas”.

You will be surprised how many times you will trawl through your archives looking for a special pic. Or when you look at an image you did a couple of years ago you realise that your post production could have been so much better.

BTW, it helps to have a good database of all your shoots.

My $0.02,
Robert

I never delete. You can get 1TB external drives for $60. Always archive everything. And I do have two off site backups as well.

You guys are frightening me. @paperdigits Mica, what do you mean by “I never delete.” it is a sort of religious congregation, is your keyboard broken… are you making a greenhouse using hardrives as bricks? :grin:

@rht, this is why I cannot make a decision. I always scroll through my old pics and the worst part is I keep finding pictures that I think were under rated back then.

As with the others, I tend to not delete things unless they really are a complete loss.

Storage is ridiculously cheap these days so there’s no reason not to keep everything from that perspective.