Does anyone use Caesium?

Hi all,

Does anyone use Caesium for photo compression or know about its development progress so far? The old versions have memory leak problem and my friend had trouble compiling the new version (I’m only an amateur photographer, and I asked my CS friend to compile it for me).

It’d also be cool if the “software” page has recommendations for photo-compression softwares like Caesium.

Thanks!

jpegoptim or one of the other commandline tools available in your distro can probably do the same.

What file format does it output?

Depends on the input. It supports jpeg, bmp, and png. There’s also an option saying “input”, though I mainly use jpeg. PNG compression is a bit wacky.

I’ll look at that… The reason I stick to Caesium is because of its interface, and though I never compared it to other programs, it’s pretty efficient (97% quality gives -33% space or so).

in the end caesium uses similar libs to what the other available cmdline tools use

Not a fan of cmd lines though. A GUI is much more efficient.

Development status? · Issue #3 · Lymphatus/caesium-image-compressor · GitHub

Report it in the right place, otherwise it won’t get fixed.

PNG - Wikipedia
GitHub - mozilla/mozjpeg: Improved JPEG encoder.

1 Like

Hey, the developer knows about the memory leak issue. I emailed him three years ago about it and had correspondence.

Also, the memory leak problem occurs on 1.7.0, and the repo is the 2.0.0 beta that my friend failed to build. The issue isn’t even applicable for the repo. I wouldn’t’ve asked here if I don’t know my stuff.

Thanks for the list by the way, but if I had time to try software one by one I wouldn’t’ve asked here.

If you’re in contact with the developer and don’t have time to try other software, why did you ask about the development status and ask about other software?

Please read and fully understand what I said rather than firing questions after a skim.