dt styles for arangast's "New Fujifilm XTrans film simulations"

@arangast posted really nice HaldCLUTs for Fujifilm film simulations.

I created darktable styles based on https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_cLCL5PJk4 so that these LUTs can also be used in darktable.
Hope they work fine for you :grinning:
Fuji_XTrans_III_dtstyles.zip (31.4 KB)

1 Like

so maybe Iā€™ll look like a total newbie (again!) but I have found that the Darktable rendering of RAW images coming out of my X-T2 are far from matching the ones from the camera. All sorts of aliasing issues and lighting and colorsā€¦ While Iā€™m used to having different rendering between the camera and Darktable (I also had problems with my Canon Powershot G12), this is making me go simply back to shoot in plain JPG, which is a little frustrating.

Is this something those styles could fix? How do I install those styles anyways? And should those styles be shipped with DT (and applied!) by default?

Thanks!

Based on your description of your problems I donā€™t think these dtstyles will help at all. You can however install them by placing them in your .config/darktable/styles directory. (gnu/linux user right?) A dev should answer the shipping question but Iā€™m guessing that they wonā€™t ship this type of style.

Itā€™s always a good idea to post some images of the problems youā€™re having. Ideally with RAW and xmp files so we can see your settings.

Yep. Debian GNU/Linux ā€œstretchā€ 9.3. :slight_smile: Iā€™m curious to hear why they wouldnā€™t ship such stylesā€¦ Thanks for the docs!

Well, back when I had those problems, this forum didnā€™t exist. I whined and fretted on IRC, but that didnā€™t do anyone any good. :wink: Now that thereā€™s such a great community here, I may try my luck again next time I have that trouble! But obviously, a new thread would probably be a better placeā€¦

Thanks again!

Just storing the styles in some folder wonā€™t do anything. You have to import them from lighttable.