Export Issue with v. 5.8

I’m fairly new to RawTherapee and using v. 5.8 on a Windows 10 machine. I have 75 similar raw files. In Editor I cropped the first file and used Exposure Compensation to brighten it up. I copied the processing profile then selected all the other files and did a Paste - Partial checking Crop and Exposure (I guess a full paste would have accomplished the same thing as I only did those two operations on the first image). It appears to correctly apply these two operations to the other 74 images. They all show the crop and are brightened up.

The problem occurs when I put the images in the Queue and export them, choosing either 16-bit TIFF or 8-bit JPEG images. They look okay in the Queue, but it appears that the exposure step is applied somewhat erratically in the first few exported images, then after a number of images the remainder all look dark as if no exposure change was done. I have repeated this several times, starting from scratch by first deleting the .pp3 files, and the same thing always happens. I even tried it using a smaller subset of the 75 images with the same result.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Are you using auto settings on the exposure adjustment in Rawtherapee? That can sometimes act weird.

Can you elaborate on what auto settings might be involved? I just used the Exposure Compensation slider. I don’t see any auto setting except Auto Levels, which I didn’t use.

Can you remove again all those pp3 files?

Then open one image, apply Neutral profile:

neutralprf

Modify Exposure compensation, go to File Browser, copy the profile of that image, and paste it to all and every image that should have the same compensation.

Finally, export the images.

Does the problem persist?

1 Like

I’ve been trying various combination of steps and it appears that the neutral profile is what does the trick. Thank you.