[Feature Request] Custom Panels

Been using RawTherapee full-throttle for several weeks now and absolutely love it. As a geek, to me it beats the pants off Lightroom and others.

I’ve not had any time to look at the code (I’m a developer by trade), so I wouldn’t be able to tackle this in any timely fashion (let alone sure if it’s reasonably do-able), so thought I’d pass a feature request/suggestion along.

In playing with RT, I’ve developed a comprehensive editing pipeline. However, a lot of the edits are dependent on other edits, so a tweak I make to one parameter might require tweaks to others. They are all deterministic interactions between one another, so I thought it might be neat if it was possible to have a single slider that affected both (or more) parameters simultaneously. Mind you, I’m not talking about simply linking sliders, but rather have the value of one slider explicitly affect (in some mathematical way) the value of another slider (or curve, or setting, or whatever).

Although my use-case is far more elaborate, a simple example would be to adjust noise reduction based on both ISO and exposure adjustments: a custom slider value of 0 would yield 0 noise reduction; drag it up to 50 (or 0.5 out of 1 or whatever scale) and the built-in noise reduction sliders (lum/chrom) change half of the maximum defined for that ISO with the current exposure coefficient.

In my opinion, the best way to achieve this would be a simple definition language that defines a new panel, slider, curve, etc, and the value of that component would affect the defined values on the built-in panels. Using the above example, something like so:

[Group]
name=My Custom Controls
id=myCustomControls

[myCustomControls:Slider]
name=ISO+Push Noise Reduction
id=isoPushNR
min=0.0
max=1.0
default=0.0
calc=( ( exif.iso / 400.0 ) * ( min( exposure.compensation, 0 ) * 2.5 ) ) * value
detail.noiseReduction.luminance=calc * max( abs( myCustomControls.balance - 1.0 ), 1.0 )