Feedback on OpenFX

Hello,

I’ve been working for some time on an extension of OpenFX to 3D mesh effects, that I’ve called Open Mesh Effect: https://openmesheffect.org

The whole context is explained more in detail on a blog post, but long story short, I would be interested in some feedback from developers who worked with OpenFX, whether on the host (e.g. Natron) or on the plug-in side.

How do you feel about this API, do you like it? What are the most frustating things that you have to do when dealing with it? Are they things you could not find how to do with it?

I won’t change OpenFX regarding 2D image effects, but this would help me design Open Mesh Effect!

3 Likes

Hello eliemichel,
Im no programmer or developer, but I hope you will have success with your new standart. :slight_smile:

That’s a clever move, but if Blender never considered adopting OpenFX, why would they support openmesheffect? You would have to be more convincing (or maintain your own blender branch)

About the non-GPL plugins used by a GPL app: I would say that as long as the app is fully functional without the plugin, and the plugin is distributed separately, then the plugin is not a component of the app.

People in the Natron community do not think that people infringe the GPL by using non-GPL (including commercial) plugins, because Natron can be used without these commercial plugins. But, as the GPL FAQ states, “This is a legal question, which ultimately judges will decide” Frequently Asked Questions about the GNU Licenses - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation . Note that this sentence has been in the GPL FAQ forever (at least 18 years, see Frequently Asked Questions about the GNU GPL - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation (FSF) ) and judges never had to decide!