Future rawtherapee features

I realize RT is open source and as such lacks some of the advantages of software that is developed in a more organized environment.

That being said I have a question or 2 about new features and enhancements to RT.

1. Is there a forum to take suggestions from the user community?
  2. How are features chosen for implementation, is there a vote?
  3. Is there an long term (a year or 2) overall plan for the direction of RT?

The RT site directs me here for Forum access. I have to say, I don’t see much activity on this site about the three questions I raise.

Open source,m like everything else has its strengths and weaknesses. Things like local adjustments seem to be wanted but unfortunately don’t make it (at least I don’t see them) into the main build.

Many thanks

Answers are based on my experience with FOSS and I’m not a developer. That being said:

True and some of the weaknesses are also its strength: Developers do this in their free time, mostly during the weekends or evenings. The downside being that things progress somewhat slowly and the upside is that they must really like working on a specific problem to invest time and effort on it and the result is often quit nice/impressive.

It is not yet available in the latest stable release, but a fleshed out version is in the development branch. No need to build your own to access it if that isn’t your thing, you can download one of the fairly recent development (appimage) builds.

I do just about all my edits on the latest self build development version and except for a very occasional crash when using the wavelets levels tab I don’t have any issues with it. Major bugs are, most of the time, resolved rather quickly.