General advice required. Photo Management & Occasional Raw Processing From Scratch in Linux

I am a retired IT pro, an amateur photographer, relatively new (10 yrs) to digital, and an exclusive Linux user. With an increasing number of images I am looking to re-catalog all from scratch and store them on my NAS on my existing network. I would like advice based on the following requirements.

I now shoot RAW+JPG with a Fuji X-T20. The resulting JPGs are so good that most often either no post processing or a little attention in GIMP is all that’s needed. Occasionally I would like to process some images from the RAW data.

The plan is to catalog in a searchable way my large collection of images (perhaps in Digikam which I have used) in a way that I can choose to edit either the JPG or RAW file and keep the result linked to the original photo. I am aware that Rawtherapee can edit RAW and that Darktable can also catalog and manage a database. I have no idea if/how these pieces of software can work together or if my idea of using Digikam with another app for editing is a practical solution.

My requirement is, I presume, fundamental and common. As a Linux user my options are limited. I am hoping that someone out there can advise me on (a) practical and simple(ish) solution(s).

Many thanks in anticipation.

PS I hope I have placed this request in the correct section. I have also searched and found posts that relate to some of the issues but found none in a comprehensive way.

That’s what I do (digikam for managing and mostly Rawtherapee for editing) and it works well and meets all the requirements you stated. You say you used digikam already - what makes you ask, i.e. what didn’t work how you wanted it to before?

Hi @john-summit and welcome!

Thie might give you a few good ideas:

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

1 Like