Getting the Most out of my files to impress clients

Ok, I am a sports photographer and I have been going at it less then a year. I use a Nikon D7500 paired with a Sigma 70-200 2.8 sport lens, Sigma 50-100 1.8 Art Lens, and my new baby a Sigma 150-600 Pro variable aperture behemoth.

I am having some issues at this point and need to rule a few things out. (I run Linux) so the Sigma Lens Dock does not work with my stand alone system.

There is a gent near me who is a professional sports photographer who has tons of experience. He is using a D500 and a 300mm Nikon 2.8 Pro Lens. (His results are incredible.) I know that without his lens, there is no way I can get as good of results without 2.8 prime glass, but I was thinking I could have gotten a little bit better results with what I am working with.

Is it my Lens, My lack of experience in editing? I am not sure. I am providing a Raw file to see what you guys can do with it.

A link to the gentlemans FB Page who I am trying to achieve is here.

https://www.facebook.com/pg/cut4photography/photos/

Here is my after raw therapy crop.
DSC_6032

Here is the filebin link with the Raw File as well as its RT pp3 file.

Thank you in advance.

John Lambiase
admin@254allstars.com

I think a similar photo from cut4 is here: Troy vs. Bruceville-Eddy (04/17/18) - Cut4 Photography

1 Like

Yes, and it is freaking perfect in my eyes. Look at how sharp and how great the skin tones are. If I could come up looking half as good as this with what I have I would be happy. My camera and his share the Same Image Sensor and processor. So I think at that point it comes down to glass which his is absolutely superior because his is a prime. I did do a little work on the Raw file that I posted and here is what I came up with, which I think looks better then the image I posted.