gimp plugins - Lce sometimes missing

[ Lce : Local contrast enhancement, abbreviated to fit in the editing window ]

I’ve been using G’MIC gimp plugins for a few months now, and the one plugin I almost-always use is Local contrast enhancement (I take three variants of the raw image at different EV adjustments and merge them - that generally makes things soft, sometimes so soft that it’s hard to see the detail). I build everything from source, and I build fresh systems every few months.

Until a few hours ago I’ve been compiling the gimp_gtk plugins, but after looking at Arch linux I finally found out how to build the qt version (download extra tarball, sed the .pro file, yadda, yadda).

Until yesterday I had thought all was fine - then I went back to the current build on my gimp-2.8 machine (2.0.2) and realised the Local contrast enhancement plugin was not in the menu - yet the same version on two gimp-2.9 machines was fine.

So, I’ve now built the 2.0.3 gimp_qt plugins on one of those 2.9 machines - and again the Local contrast enhancement plugin is not on the menu.

Any ideas, please ?

It should compile OK. This in Kubuntu 16.04 with Gimp 2.9.7 packages from the otto-meier/gimp-edge ppa

last compile was 2 weeks ago, and that had LCE. A brand new compile, just before writing this. It is 2.0.4_pre1709087

The start of the output is

rich@rich-VB:~$ git clone https://github.com/dtschump/gmic.git
Cloning into 'gmic'...
remote: Counting objects: 6292, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (119/119), done.
remote: Total 6292 (delta 136), reused 119 (delta 70), pack-reused 6103
Receiving objects: 100% (6292/6292), 59.81 MiB | 2.53 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (4039/4039), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
rich@rich-VB:~$ git clone https://github.com/c-koi/gmic-qt.git
Cloning into 'gmic-qt'...
remote: Counting objects: 967, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (29/29), done.
remote: Total 967 (delta 9), reused 22 (delta 5), pack-reused 933