Global Star Alignment doesn't find any stars during registration

Hello,

I’m new to Siril, so far I’m not very impressed – quite difficult to use with the latest version.

Anyway, I have several images, all very clearly have stars in them yet Global Star Alignment reports no stars found in the image. I’ve tried playing with Dynamic PSF to no avail – spent over an hour changing the 3 values and not a single star was found. There are several concerns, for example why this should even be necessary, but the concern right now is why this doesn’t work. Is it a but? User error? Both?

Thanks,

Gary

Last official version, or dev version? Both are very different, and the dev one is better for star detection.

Thanks so much for the response.

Latest official version.

/Gary

Maybe changing the reference image will help.
Sometimes Siril fails to find stars (not very often), especially 0.9.12 version. The future version will fix that.

Awesome! I’ll play with it some more.

Thanks,

Gary

Hi,
maybe your stars are too elongated, maybe they are too faint but appear bright because of the rendering, maybe they are overexposed and cannot be detected as a Gaussian shape… Share an image maybe, we can have a look.

Hi Vincent,

I suspect you are on the right tract. They are not very good images, lots of background light.

I’ve played with it a bit more, and will do again today.

I’ve stacked (poorly) a few images using the single star registering and Siril can detect stars in that stacked image (with default settings), but not detect any stars in the original images (even adjusting the parameters).

I’ll send an image shortly.

Thanks,

Gary

Hi Vincent,

I’m having issues with sending the image, it bounces off of my email server. Is there another way to send the image?