Group Selected by Filename - doesn't seem to work across albums

Hi, I’m fairly long term user of Digikam and am currently running version 6.4 appimage on a Fedora system.

I recently started shooting raw + jpeg and need to group images. I found that selecting number of files and then right clicking and selecting ‘Group Selected by Filename’ indeed works and lets me group raw and jpegs together as I want to.

But there seem to be a problem if I attempt to do this across a couple of albums. That is if I select all the files in two or more different albums and then attempt to do the ‘Group Selected by Filename’, Digikam will only group the files within the current album, not across all the selected file across several albums.

Is this behavior correct or am I missing something? The reason I wanted to operate across a couple of albums as I was originally downloading the raw files to one album and the jpegs to another album. This doesn’t seem like the correct approach and what I’ve had to do is to download all files shot for a particular event to a single album so that the raws and jpegs are within a single album.

Can any one advise if this is the correct way to handle the situation or am i missing something?

Thanks in advance!

Mike

I think you can right click on albums in the left panel and check the box ‘show children items’ or something of the sort. There definitely is an option to make all the images from every sub-folder visible

Andrius, thanks for your input, but I’m afraid I’m still struggling. Right clicking on the albums doesn’t give me any option like ‘show children items’.

Here’s what I’m trying to do. I have 2 albums named as such:

20191208-jpg - contains jpegs only
20191208-org - contains raw orf files only