Histograms in RawTherapee

I am a newbie to RawTherapee and would appreciate some feedback regarding the histogram. I have a Nikon D90 and have what I would have considered a well-exposed RAW image of a Gretag-Macbeth Colour Chart. If I apply a neutral profile, the histogram is spread evenly across the graph with roughly equal gaps at both ends. However, if I view it in the raw histogram, everything is shunted to the left hand side, with nothing on the right 50%. Does this mean that it is actually under-exposed, and that I should be exposing so that the right side is filled, and then adjusting the exposure compensation when processing?

Hi @pauld
Could you upload the RAW image so that we could have a look at it?

AttachedDSC_0057.NEF (9.0 MB)

Thank you, @pauld

I have taken a swift look at it, and I’d say that the photo is
under-exposed.

If I remember it correctly, a “properly” exposed/illuminated
Colour Chart such as yours should show values around L a b 96 0 0
in the white square, and about L a b 20 0 0 in the black square.

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden

I opened you raw in RT, and I’m now looking at your raw histogram. If your image were exposed such that the top-right patch were blown, you’d see a spike at the right hand side in all three channels. That, and the RGB values from that patch in the Navigator are at 89-90% of the exposure range, so I’d say you might have one stop to play with. The horizontal scale of the histogram is logarithmic, so you need to keep that in mind when comparing data spreads at the right versus those on the left. I’d probably go just 1/2 a stop on this one, because when you shoot a color checker or other target, you really want to know what the camera woud measure at white, and blowing it through saturation really goofs up that information.