How to develop photo when the subject is the brightest highlights?

Hopefully a screenshot taken from Rawtherapee (RT) will convey what is thought to be the problem for which some help is desired as follows:

This screenshot is of the raw file when initially opened in RT using the “Neutral” processing profile. The tone curve shows the histogram which I’m thinking depicts the problem. Of course I’m also a bit of a novice so there could be some doubt about that. What may not be obvious, just form the screenshot, is that the pixels associated with the subject (i.e., white boat) are on the extreme right side of the histogram. The problem I’m having is that when I try to brighten the background and increase contrast, which is pretty easy to do, the white boat becomes out of gamut (severely clipped). Highlight compression with low threshold seems to help but still not good enough.

I’ve also tried taking a .tif file created from RT to GIMP to see how that might work but results not what is desired.

Note: My objective is NOT to produce an authentic (?scene referred) image but rather something a bit more artistic which exaggerates the reflections and color (? saturation).

I suppose the answer might be “impossible objective” but thought it worth asking those with more expertise.

Hi @ajax,

Rawterapee offers quite a powerful possibilities to compress the dynamic range of the image. Just the standard setting of “dynamic range compression” module offers excellent results:

Before:

After:

You can also use tone mapping and Shadows and Highlights modules for this.

1 Like

In your photo the object of interest is white. You can use one of the LAB modules tabs to increase the lightness of chosen colours. It will only affect the selected hue.

1 Like