howto remove collections in darktable ?

Hi,

i am still relatively new to darktable and after playing around i run into two problems with collections.

First Problem: i want to remove a collection, but i can’t find any options like “remove collections” or something like that.
So for what do i need this option ? I often do some work on site and immediate edit pictures on clients site. Back home i do a second edit and then move all the files onto my NAS in different folders(i.e. 2020-06-29/raw, 2020-06-29-jpg-social media, 2020-06-29/jpg ttv widescreen and so on). As a last step i want to remove the collection with all pictures on my notebook since the job is done and there is no need of holding pictures on the notebook.

Second Problem: previously in my “old” Software i had a, lets say, library in which i collected a whole year. If i am in need to get rid of photos from 2016 i simply opened the library 2016 and there are all my collections of this year. I was not able to find any similar in darktable. Any ideas ?

I am using darktable 2.6.0 on Debian 10 Buster.

Thank you in advance for any help

Hi,

in darktable a “collection” (film roll) is generated automatically for each folder in which there is an imported image, you can’t “create” or “delete” it by itself.

:warning: CAUTION: these instructions will delete any record darktable has of your edits. If you want to keep them for future use, you must enable the “write sidecar file for each image” option (in “core options”), and backup the resulting xmp files with your RAW files. :warning:

• For your first problem, what you need to do is to remove the images from the database: select all the images in a film roll and look for the “remove” button in the “selected images” module (to the right in the lighttable).