Hyperchrome: initial project release

Hey folks! Showing off a project I’ve been working on for about 13 months in RawTherapee. (Before RT, I tried Capture One and then DxO- but I soon realized only RT was powerful enough to do what I wanted.) It’s nothing fancy, just a highly refined processing profile. But it has honestly been OVER A YEAR of very diligent work to get these results… and I’m finally proud enough of the end result to want to share it :slight_smile:

At this point I feel very comfortable working in RT (despite hitting a few crash bugs along the way). It’s insanely powerful and capable of extremely high quality output. There are so many great tools- and a few not so great ones too. A lot of this process for me has been learning what adjustments to use, and which ones to leave the hell alone. It is definitely possible to “over-process” your shots in RT and I went through many, many iterations of this profile that just didn’t look right, and I had to double-back to an older version and start a new fork.

All thoughts welcome! All of these photos were taken in the south Bronx. (Put your hands up, other New Yorkers.)

Oh yeah, and since you have to name your children, I’m calling this Hyperchrome.

Drew

9 Likes

Very nice! These are all automatically produced by your profile? Or you tweak each photo individually?

You could try making a LUT out of this. Just be aware that LUTs only deal with colour and not local contrast or sharpness adjustments.

Looks like something you see usually in Sigma Foveon groups :+1:

@paperdigits Yes that’s right! Only thing I’m adjusting per image is Exposure. Everything is else just straight out of the profile with Camera AWB. That was a big part of my goal- a “daylight neutral” balanced processing that would create an attractive, consistent, recognizable look. Like, the profile itself as an art form.