I find the filmroll concept a little tedious.

I am pretty new to darktable but so far I find the filmroll concept a little tedious to handle. I like the way Digikam handles things. It shows the folders as they are on disk and it’s really easy to move and synchronize things. In darktable I am never sure where my pictures are on disk and if it shows all the images that are on disk. Again, maybe I will get used to it but so far it’s a little confusing and it seems unnecessarily cumbersome.

I wish there was a mode where darktable just showed the folder hierarchy on disk.

2 Likes

Hi and welcome. Since you’re pretty new to darktable, you should spend some time with the documentation. Film roll is just one way to sort your library; there are many others. You can read about them here: darktable 3.4 user manual - collect images

1 Like

I just found out (with Darktable 3.5+) that you can define a folder display under collection filter panel and it sticks between restart. (as far I remember keeping this filter setting (folder, filmroll…) wasn’t the case with DT 3.4, but I’m not 100% sure).

Darktable is not a photo oriented file browser, as digikam is. But is a library oriented software, which needs to be manually feeded by photos you want to keep and work on, as Lightroom or Luminar are.

With Digikam, you think of file first, that you want to manage and edit eventually.
With Darktable, you think of photo first, not file. You don’t care were the files are, you import in the library only what you want and work on the photos, not the files. File management is not meant to be part of Darktable.

In fact, Darktable manages only one huge library of all photos you import. Then, you can “group” these photos under different categories. One category is the folder they are in. This folder happen to be called filmroll in Darktable. But that’s only one way to see that.