Is it a bug or is it because I'm a beginner ?

I’m new in photo editing, so I may be confused, and probably I am.
Here is my issue.
I like to make my own wallpapers with shots from films I like. I have a decent screen (Eizoo CG277) and I’m on W10. My screen has an AdobeRGB profile, and is in 10 bits.

• So I take with FFMpeg a shot from my 4K disk, and a screenshot with my player (MPC-BE)
  • So I have 2 files, the screenshot with "real’ colors in sRGB, and a 4K file (so very desatured).
  • Then I try to retrieve the “original” colors by comparison with the sRGB shot.

So there begins my confusion.

• The sRGB screenshot doesn’t come from a camera, so I put “none” on the color profile for screen preview, and the result is OK.

• For the 4K source, I put “included in source” because source is in AdobeRGB, work space also in AdobeRGB.

• Then I do all stuff to have the 4K picture looking like the sRGB shot.

• But, when I watch pixels off gamut, it’s OK for the sRGB, but mostly off gamut for the 4K version (in the blue for the shot I’m working on). And if I try to be in gamut, I don’t have the same colors.

• When I save the file in AdobeRGB as a wallpaper, it looks good for me.

• I have to say that the off gamut is not one color, it’s a variation of color, many values of color are “off gamut”.

• Sorry again if this topic is more a “general” topic than focused on ART.

• Where am I wrong ?

• Could it be a bug ?

I haven’t used ffmpeg and can’t understand why the 4k image would be desaturated. Can’t you just load the video in, select the frame you want, and export as image? I’ve done this on proprietary software and never had an issue with colours.

When you use FFmpeg, it exports the frame “as is” without treatment to look like HDR, so the frame is washed out. It seems that there is something to do with gamma correction (not linear curve, the logarithmic one). But I must search about this.