Live Photo Editing on Twitch

Good Morning!

Some of you know me, I’m a photographer and lurker. If you’ve posted any good darktable tips or YouTube recs I’ve probably stolen them.

I also do this thing where I share my process in a live stream every Wednesday at 8pm (CST). The past 6 months or so its been in a private Discord chat for my patrons, but today I’ll be making my public debut on Twitch! I mostly use darktable to edit my photos, but I also incorporate GIMP and Scribus to have a truly free workflow that anyone can follow regardless of gear.

Its super casual and I make a lot of mistakes, but my friends seemed to enjoy watching what I do and from what I can tell no one else is doing this right now.

Tonight I’ll be going over some model/skin retouching tips including frequency separation in GIMP. I’m pretty excited about the photos I have to work with!

If you want to watch go ahead and follow me at twitch.tv/chicagocameraslinger. I’ll keep using this thread to share the topic each week. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

For all non-Americans: that’s 0100 UTC.

3 Likes

Thank you!

I do hope to eventually add in a weekend stream where I can start earlier for a better EU timeslot, but until then at least there’s archives!

1 Like

P.S. you should stop being a lurker! :smile:

1 Like

Haha, I know! But Im intimidated by Dev talk. :laughing:

We need posts on the artistic side! Not everything is dev… I personally want me of the art side: composition, techniques for accentuating certain looks, why one chooses the edits to reinforce the message.

4 Likes

You got it, PD! I’ll definitely bring some more content over here. :grin:

The stream last night went so well! If you missed it, its still archived on Twitch.

I talked about how to set up frequency separation, a little about ethical retouching, and tangented on layer masks.

Next Wednesday, same time same place, I’ll be going over Parametric Masks in darktable since I brought them up last night.

Hope to see you there!