Lucky imaging with Siril

I am new to Siril (version 0.99-4), and I am still confused by the options for stacking.

Living in polluted Rio de Janeiro, I would like to try some planetary/moon lucky imaging. However, I am not sure which would be the best algorithms/configurations for this. I am not happy with the final result

What I have tried is to take around 200 pictures and do this in Siril:

1. Delete the poor images just by eye.
  2. Process lights, darks, bias, flats in a standard way.
  3. Register all images in the sequence with “Image pattern alignment”.
  4. Stack with “Average stacking with rejection”, “Winsorized Sigma clipping” (low = 3.2, high = 3.3). I am not using any Normalization, since I get errors with it in version 99.4 (Normalization failed. Check image NN).

Is this OK for lucky imaging?

Thanks!!

Siril only supports registration on the entire image, or on one part or it. For planetary or moon imaging with a large focal length, you need multi-point registration in general, which siril does not do yet. Look at PlanetarySystemStacker for that in the free software side of things.

If you still want to use Siril, you can use the planetary registration, it will give you a quality indicator for images, and you can filter the best images given by this indicator in stacking. Normalization is probably not important for planetary images, and if you are stacking 8 bit images, you must use the sum stacking anyway.

I guess by “planetary registration” you mean what Siril’s call “Image pattern Alignment”, right?

Which “quality indicator” you are referring to? Is this what is controlled in the “Sigma low/high” in the Stacking tab, or in the “all” drop down menu? For some reason, if I select “quality” in the latter, the “start stacking” button gets unclickable. In the Sequence tab, if I open the frame list, I see “N/A” in the quality of all images.

About normalization, I am using DSLR RAW images, probably 12 bits, converted by Siril into 32 bits I guess.