Mapping to output gamut

Hi,

I’ve got away from the daily job, and now have some to play.
The outcome is a bit of (Java) code (I’m a business dev, sorry). It’s not something useful, it’s just a learning tool for me. Since I’m a silly old man, it’s hard for me to keep track of the type of data an array of numbers represents, so I wrapped everything into objects. Yep, I know it’s baroque. Anyway, Java arrays are also not too efficient, being full-fledged objects with all the overhead that comes with it.

The code is here:

What works now:

• load the linear Rec2020 input
  • perform one of the following mappings:
    – null mapping: simply apply the Rec2020->XYZ->(linear) sRGB matrix. Will probably die, see below.
    – B&W using L: Rec2020->XYZ->Lab; null out a and b; Lab->XYZ->sRGB. So a B&W version. Not a gamut mapper, but I wanted something simple to start with. :slight_smile:
    – global saturation reduction:
    — Rec2020->XYZ->Lab->LCh(ab) (alternatively, Luv → LCh(uv))
    — for each pixel, take L and h;
    ---- find the maximum value of C such that (L, Cmax, h) is at the boundary of the sRGB gamut
    ---- find the compression ratio needed to take the pixel to pixel inside sRGB
    ---- find the maximum of such compression ratios
    ---- apply it uniformly to the whole image
    — convert back from LCh(ab/uv) to Lab/Luv → XYZ → sRGB
    – clip chroma (C) of LCh(ab/uv):
    — Rec2020->XYZ->Lab/Luv->LCh(ab/uv)
    — for each pixel, take L and h;
    ---- find the maximum value of C such that (L, Cmax, h) is at the boundary of the sRGB gamut
    ---- if the pixel’s C is higher than Cmax, clip it
    — LCh(ab/uv) → Lab/Luv->XYZ->sRGB
  • check for out-of-gamut colours; this is why the null mapper will most probably die
  • write the sRGB output with TRC applied.

Plan: add a smooth roll-off as C approaches the in-gamut maximum. I’ve already coded the curve but have not hooked it up. (Tone Curve Math Question - #6 by Thanatomanic)