My first attempt at a pano fused from stacks... The "Supermoon" from last weekend.

Supermoon over Mt. Helix.

This is my first attempt at an exposure-fused panorama, and I’m reasonably pleased with how it came out. It was a trick shot of the #Supermoon rising over Mt. Helix here in San Diego. Shot on my E-M1ii with the 40-150mm f4-5.6 at 70mm, f4, an ISO 1000. Four panels with +/- 1.5ev before the moon rose up, and then another of just the moon at -3ev once it was in position. I’ve put together a pano head for my tripod using some relatively inexpensive parts from Amazon and Ebay, so it wasn’t too hard to swing it all together relatively quickly. I used a combination of Darktable (to develop the raws), Hugin (to stitch the stacks-exposure-fused pano, without the moon), and the GIMP (to blend the moon in) to create the final stitched image. Fun times! :slight_smile:

PS, next time, I would shoot with lower ISO for the panorama shots. Noise removal in DT leads to overly smoothed details and a bit of weirdness in the sky.

**Edits for typos

9 Likes

Awesome shot, and a nice detail there with the cross at the top.

I too put together a pano head out of some rails from amazon!

1 Like

Thanks!

The breakthrough for my diy pano head were these really affordable compact indexed rotators. Two of them plus a couple of cheap nodal sliders and an L bracket make for a pretty good multi-row pano rig!

Yes, I have similar. I actually like it a lot, but haven’t been able to find the nodal point quite right, so stuff like power lines do not stitch well

1 Like