Natron Developer

Hi There,

I’m a software developer trying to reconvert into an artist, I decided to make the switch from nuke to Natron.
I like it so far and I believe I could be a bit of a help for the development of Natron, I have already successfully build the last version myself and started peeking into the source code.
I do not want to make any promise, I have few year of Qt development on the back and would like to focus on implementing some quality of life improvement to the UI, as well as some bug fixing that might affect me now or later. but cannot dedicate time to other feature I might not find utility in.

I took a look around the github issues tracker, and would like to ask if there is anything I should know about how to push any commit ? I’m on windows and am not able to do any testing on linux/mac.

Cheers,
Sci

5 Likes

Hi and welcome,

Any help to fix or enhance Natron is very much appreciated.

See Natron/CONTRIBUTING.md at RB-2.3 · NatronGitHub/Natron · GitHub for generic info.

Pull requested will be reviewed, the more testing you do before the pull request the better (tested on multiple platforms and successful unit tests are preferred).

1 Like

Let me propose to install a Patreon account for NATRON where users can establish a monthly fee to sustain the work on this program. I would gladly participate in this endeavior.
Instead of paying a bounty for a specific issue one could then offer a list of possible improvements where all supporters can choose their favorite in accordance with their financial involvement.
This scheme has worked in the past for KRITA.

Hi,

Funding has been discussed in the past, but has never resulted in anything, mostly due to the lack of developers. At the moment we have two developers that maintains Natron and the plugins in their spare-time, barely enough to keep things a float… I doubt funding will change that.

[rodlie] rodlie https://discuss.pixls.us/u/rodlie Ole-André
https://discuss.pixls.us/u/rodlie