Newbie workflow question

Hi

I’m very new to darktable and haven’t used it yet. I’m coming from olympus workspace and adboe CS2. I have an inital qestion about workflow and how to work in darktable.

My current process is very time-consuming. I shoot wildlife mostly so end up with thousands of files from a shoot, often abroad where I only have a windows surface PC. what I normally do is:

1. I shoot Jpeg and raw.
  2. I save each day’s photos locally to the laptop and back up to an external hard drive. I don’t tend to edit until I get home as I don’t have time.
  3. when I get home, I tend to do all my processing on the files on the external hard drive using my laptop. I just got a new laptop with a 1TB ssd so I’ll most likely copy the files off the tablet/external drive and work on them on the laptop hard drive.
  4. I have tended to create individual sub folders to group the day’s images into smaller batches to work through,
  5. I give the best a star rating, sort those into a separate folder and then delete the rest off the drive
  6. I then process the best images as needed
  7. At the end of the shoot once I have finished processing the best images, I upload the best of the best to Flickr
  8. Then I will clear them off the laptop/external hard drive onto our raid array storage which is housed in a desktop PC.

My question is. What’s the best way of streamlining this workflow using darktable? I’ve been watching Bruce William’s video tutorials and the copy local function seems close but it seems to be almost doing the steps backwards to what I’m used to. If I use my laptop hard drive as the main repository, how do I back up to the raid array and keep the files accessible if I need to revisit them? Are there any tips for managing large volumes of files created pre darktable?

Many thanks

Jo

Welcome!
Not sure if this fits your large volume editing tasks, but I store all my image files on my local server, using Rapid Photo Downloader (a neat program!)