Noise Reduction negated on export

Hi - first time poster. I’ve been using RawTherapee for a few months now.

First, some specifications:
RawTherapee 5.8
macOS 10.15.6
Sony .ARW from a7R IV

I noticed that my exported image (all formats and bit depths) retains the noise that I got rid of using the Noise Reduction tool.

This was a digitized negative, so I’m using the Film Negative setting (which only seems to work with the .ARW with all Raw Black Points at their minimum -2048, but that’s another topic, I suppose).

I’m happy with the image at 100% in RawTherapee, but the noise returns after export.

Here is a link with the .ARW, PP3, and an exported 8-bit TIFF: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1kvYWPb7lDQiSM1GXU7eMcmh4ubt1SlCA/view?usp=sharing

It doesn’t look like anyone has mentioned this exact same topic - was wondering if anyone has encountered this!

1 Like

@OAOV Interesting find, thank you for bringing it up. I can reproduce it. @rom9 Do you have a clue?

OAOV, I don’t know why you need to set the raw black points to something other than 0. I get a perfectly acceptable result with the default settings (except for the noise that doesn’t go away).

_DSC0101.jpg.out.pp3 (13.5 KB)

1 Like

Hello @OAOV , thanks for testing!

I’ve noticed this also happens when you export the positive image (film negative tool disabled), if you stretch the image levels, for example using the Tone Curve 2. Here’s an example:

Exported TIFF on the left, RT on-screen preview on the right. Notice the chroma noise on the left.

However, the exported tiffs doesn’t have the same amount of noise as if they were processed with denoise disabled altogether (you can try exporting both versions and subtract them in Gimp).

My guess is that there is always a very very subtle difference between the preview denoise and the exported denoise. The filmnegative tool just makes it more evident because it has to stretch image contrast a lot.