Participating in Open Source Projects

Let’s talk about what it’s like to work on an open source project. Just about all the software I use is Open Source. I’m not a programmer, but I do like the idea of people volunteering their time to put free tools in the hands of users.

How are the projects run so there is not duplication of effort?

What motivates people to put their efforts into an open source project?

Finally, I notice that for all the powerful open source tools out there, a common weakness is that the documentation sucks. Not always, but often enough to bother me as a user. What motivated this post is the recent update to RT’s Wavelet documentation. For a long time I’ve wanted proper documentation on that tool, because I keep hearing how powerful it is, but I could never find any decent guides on how to use it. It’s written in Spanish and I’m thinking about doing an English translation but don’t want to spend the time if someone else is already doing it. I’ve also thought about writing documentation for G’Mic, but don’t know how to get involved with that either.

I’m hoping this will turn into a meandering thread that can demystify the “behind the scenes” of open source software projects.

1 Like

I can’t say how the projects are ran, but I will say that from my end, when I get a working code, I do a merge request, follow up, and then if all goes all, it is pushed. That’s the only thing I know. I wish I had more times to do more. The only two projects I contribute to would be Krita, and G’MIC-QT.

So explain this to me. You look at the code for Krita or G’mic, and you think to yourself, “Hey, I can make this better.” So you modify the code on Github, notify whoever manages the project and then maybe they include it in the official release?

As I non-programmer, I only have a vague understanding of merges, pulls, pushes etc…

What is your personal motivation to do the work you do?