[PlayRaw] HDR Challenge

Half an hour ago I looked through the window and saw interesting lighting on the street and thought that would be a nice opportunity to learn about HDR image processing.

This is my first attempt and I’m curious about what can be made to extend dynamic range without that typical HDR look.

Here are the raw files:
_DSC4492.NEF (26.7 MB)
_DSC4493.NEF (25.0 MB)
_DSC4494.NEF (25.6 MB)
_DSC4495.NEF (27.9 MB)
_DSC4496.NEF (29.4 MB)

Here is EXR file that I’ve made with Luminance HDR:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5z-GQUVfbtzRFFuTG1TcUpjT00/view?usp=sharing

Motive is nothing special, but I liked that framing of the illuminated street by reflection of fog in the sky and snow on the ground.

Here is my result so far:

So, I’m curious what else can be made of it. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

If this is a Play Raw, please explicitly give your files a permissive license. You may also want to post the original raw files, since not everyone’s HDR workflow includes LuminanceHDR/EXR files.

@paperdigits Oh, I forgot that - thx to remind me.

Here are raw files:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5z-GQUVfbtzMXJyYU9NWDAxS2M

Both, RAW files end EXR file are realised under CC BY-NC-SA licence.

1 Like

Thank you!

I may have gone a bit overboard.

Darktable → Hugin → RawTherapee

In a very “use every tool you have” type of fashion.

_DSC4492 - _DSC4495_blended_fused.jpg.out.pp3 (9.3 KB)
_DSC4492.NEF.xmp (4.6 KB)

1 Like

According to my experience this is the best way to achieve good results :slight_smile:

Although the contrast is a bit too strong for my taste, white balance and separation between yellow and blue are very nice.

Which software did you use for merging RAWs to HDR? Darktable or Hugin? I would like to try Hugin but I don’t understand how to do that there.

I don’t get the multiple exposures. Your brightest shot has all the information, or am I missing something??

Anyway, here’s my go only on the brightest exposure:
Basics done in RT