[PlayRaw] Misty Path

Hello everybody,

I’ve only recently discovered pixls.us and I’m finding it really interesting and helpful. Equally recently, I discovered the hidden marvels of Raw shooting and processing. What a revelation! I’m still a novice but very keen to learn. So I’ve decided to post a photo I took a few months ago in the hills of West Sussex, England, on a misty evening, towards sunset.

What you see here is my latest attempt at producing something interesting in Darktable but, of course, I’m not entirely happy with it and I’m very curious to see what other people can do with it. I hope you enjoy playing with it!

Here’s the original Raw file: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4DPynjbupYNNXpVZ3FVeWhjTVU

And here’s the Darktable xmp file: DSC_0539.NEF.xmp (9.3 KB)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

10 Likes

In RawTherapee 5.2, processed with retinex highlight method. For the trail, retinex set to low method, and masked back in with Gimp.
DSC_0539.NEF.pp3 (12.8 KB)

5 Likes

Thanks for this nice shot. Here is my pure RT version DSC_0539.NEF.pp3 (10.7 KB)
DSC_0539

1 Like

That was fun! Two versions done in DT.

DSC_0539
DSC_0539.NEF.xmp (10.5 KB)

DSC_0539_01
DSC_0539_01.NEF.xmp (12.7 KB)

3 Likes

@HIRAM, I like your punchy version. The image has a definite tricolor effect!

I also like the warmth and detail in @ChasingShadows’s version.

Both of @Thomas_Do’s versions enhance the mist element very nicely. I think I prefer the B&W one.

Thank you very much for taking the time to process this photo in such interesting ways!

@Mario_Saraceni thanks mr 4 the lovely misty path and everybody sharing their own =)

This must be my most frustrating playraw ever, I managed a nice version on photoflow and even split in 2 could not export. Then also managed a pretty good one in rawtherapee and the program crashed on me, when saving… very frustrating.