Problems with Darktable and Mac OSX Catalina (solved with dt 2.6.3.1)

Hi, anyone facing problems with Mac OSX Catalina and Darktable ?

Opening a file in Lighttable gives errormessage : failed to read camera white balance information from (filename)
Afterwards the file becomes a ‘skull’

Trying to import folders (which are on a external HD (with all rights) : could not read the contents of (name HD)
Error opening directory 'volumes/(name HD) : operation not permitted

Trying to import files which are stored on the internal HD of my Mac gives the same error.

Some weird behaviour of Darktable and some crashes.

Any clue ? Appreciate your help since I’m no techie guy :wink:

If these are general problems, be warned if you want to upgrade your Mac to Catalina.

cheers

Further information : the Darktable database is stored on my HD. It’s still there after updating to Mac OSX Catalina.
Trying to open a photo in dt richt click open in… gives this error :
darktabe - error locking database
an error has occured while trying to open the database from
/users/peter/.config/darktable/data.db
the database lock file contains a pid that seems to be alive in your system : 2126

So I found somewhere on a Ubuntu-forum that removing data.db.lock and library.db.lock could help, but unfortunately it didn’t.

upgraded to catalina last night.
disaster!
darktable and gimp both have same problem.
still searching everywhere for solution.
:sob:

1 Like

Rule of thumb. Always wait for the point release before upgrading. Unfortunately, macOS releases aren’t as solid as they used to be. From the news, Catalina is especially bad for breaking installations.

PS @candyman Welcome to the forum!

This means that darktable may still be running on your system. Make sure it isn’t running, then delete the database lock files.

I am not a Mac user, but Catalina is supposed to have a bunch of changes.

Are the image files stored on an NFS share? People are reporting problems with Catalina + NFS shares.