Processing woes killing my fun

Hey everyone it has been a while. Post processing has really been killing my fun of photography.

I have no experience with Film outside of as a kid using my mom’s 35mm point and shoot and getting the photo’s developed at the drug store but looking back at old photos we have all boxed up everyone of them had more character then Digital. Even looking back at photos my grandparents took on their camping trips when my mom was a kid they all had this character that digital lacks.

Digital just feels too perfect I guess. As a result I have been scouring post processing trying to find a way to bring this character into digital. Sadly every converter out there seems to revolve around this digital dynamic range perfection. This I feels leads to fighting the software.

I am not trying to simulate the films out there it is more the bringing of that film character of my own style to digital photographs. As a result I am trying to encompass a workflow to do so but it is so against the grain of the many softwares I am at a wall and it is demotivating me.

Note I have a CR3 camera which does pose some minor limits at the moment unless I attempt dng conversion.

Can anyone offer some help and direction to re motivate me?

I’d start with defining what that “film look” means to you personally, in words,

3 Likes

I think you just need to use high values for saturation and contrast.

When you were a kid using your mom’s 35mm all you had to know was to point, adjust exposure, shoot (mostly). The technicalities of film emulsion chemical makeup was not even remotely in your head or a concern. Neither was the minilab likely used to develop the film negatives (or positives). Nor was the paper chemistry, exposure, development, fix, etc.

Your process was Shoot an image → Give roll of film to someone else → get back prints → magic!