Start of a beautiful day.

Early morning shot with the sun partially coming through from the left.

This is one of the few times, to be honest, that I’m really happy with the end-result of my digital photography endeavours. I seem to slowly get the hang of, mainly darktable.

I’m not there yet, that’s for sure and that is also the reason why I’m posting this one here: I like to know your opinion. If you have critique please tell. My feelings might get hurt in the process, but I’m here to learn. So pointers and general advise are welcome!

Post-processing done with darktable 3.0.2

4 Likes

I’m no expert…
I really like the colours.
As a record of what you experienced it’s probably very good.
For others, it probably would benefit from a definite subject. Imagine if there was a horse fairly prominent.
The fence leads me into the distance but then I’m blocked in by trees.
Hope this is some use!

1 Like

Very nice colour and tone, neat composition, looks a pretty place. Is quite blurry viewed 100%, but is not such an issue viewed smaller. Not sure if this was possible but to capture the rugged beauty of nature I would have preferred it without the fence. So long as the fence is there I am wondering why. What is it trying to tell us? What is the purpose? So I agree with @RawConvert, that it would probably be improved by a fore/midground subject like an animal, or something that might have given the fence some meaning.

@RawConvert and @Soupy: Thanks for your replies. It gives me pause to think about this shot, why I took it and how I edited it.

Before I start explaining (defending?) what I saw that morning and why I composed it the way I did: If the photographer/editor needs to explain how or what than s/he did something “wrong” (very experimental stuff notwithstanding).