Tone Curves in RT

Hello! I am a beginner at RawTherapee and trying to slowly learn everything about the program and what it has to offer. However, there is one thing that I am stuck on. When loading up a sample RAW file such as a .cr2 or .arw, how does RT retrieve or calculate this exposure tone curve? The reason why I am asking is because I am currently trying to solve a problem with converting proprietary RAW file formats into an “open source” DNG format. I am using a free conversion program raw2dng on Linux. Whenever the image is converted to a dng, the image’s tone curve is slightly darker than the original image. My overall goal is to eventually figure out how to automatically fix these exposure curves so the image is practically identical to its original counterpart.

What proprietary raw formats? Most are supported natively.

There is also more to it, if you are talking about the auto-matched curve. If you change the model of curve used you will get very very different results in the resulting color. I think RT defaults to film but the other selections can give more or less saturated colors… I’m also interested why you would convert a supported format??

This nuance might also be important…

I apologize! I worded my question a bit wrong. I am working on a program that will only take dngs as an input. The main problem I am experiencing is trying to preserve the original exposure curve from a raw format (.cr2, .arw, .nef) and be able to apply it to the converted dng package. After testing out many photos and types of files, the color information seems to be very similar, but I can’t seem to get the exposure information to apply correctly.

I am not sure about this …what RT is doing is applying a curve based on some math and the embedded jpg file…the raw has no exposure or tone curve that can be read…