underwater color correction

Hi,

I’m a diving instructor and underwater photos are a little tricky as colors disappear as you go deeper.
Today, I found that : http://openaccess.thecvf.com/content_CVPR_2019/papers/Akkaynak_Sea-Thru_A_Method_for_Removing_Water_From_Underwater_Images_CVPR_2019_paper.pdf

That would be great if G’mic had such a color restoration filter !!

Welcome Chag,

Think about G’MIC as a beautiful playground with interesting playground equipment, but not totally organized . There are some really nice attractions. You can learn, you can play. But it is and will not become a fully developed amusement park.

But if you keep that in mind, then it is fun to play.

Perhaps there is an enthusiastic hobbyist who has the knowledge, the will and the time to implement these things. But I wouldn’t hope too much for it.

Please G’MIC people, correct me if I’m wrong.

I don’t take underwater photos myself, and it looks to me like this research is a whole new level of colour correction for underwater photos than anything we have now.
In the meantime, I haven’t tried it myself because i don’t have any underwater photos, but have you ever tried the red/blue equalizer in the white balance tool of raw therapee? It’s not going to be a neural net reconstructing the colour in your photos, but it might still help achieve something closer to realistic colour underwater. Just a thought, having never used it myself, and obviously you’ll want to have raw photos for it to work at its best. I suppose the deeper underwater you are the trickier it will be to make colours look right…so I recommend you edit the photos on dry land lol.

Enhancing underwater images is a difficult endeavour. One must do the following (this applies to any scientific pursuit).

1 Gather empirical data and develop models to support the data.
2 Develop a set of algorithms that can apply the models in a meaningful and practical way.