Using Bimp for sharpening.

Ok, so I am using bimp for sharpening now. Here is what the Bimp file looks like.

#BIMP 1.16
#MANIPULATION SET DEFINITION

[USERDEF0]
procedure=plug-in-wavelet-decompose
num_params=6
PARAM0=1
PARAM1=NOT_USED
PARAM2=NOT_USED
PARAM3=3
PARAM4=0
PARAM5=0

[USERDEF1]
procedure=plug-in-unsharp-mask
num_params=6
PARAM0=1
PARAM1=NOT_USED
PARAM2=NOT_USED
PARAM3=1.5
PARAM4=0.25
PARAM5=0

[USERDEF2]
procedure=gimp-image-flatten
num_params=1
PARAM0=NOT_USED

[CHANGEFORMAT]
format=3
quality=100
smoothing=0
entropy=true
progressive=false
comment=
subsampling=2
baseline=true
markers=0
dct=1

Basically I wavelet decompose then unsharp mask with the parameters above. Flatten then save at 100% jpg.

I think though, that my unsharp mask is being applied to all scales of the wavelet.

I am not a coder, but is there a way to incorporate a sharpening protocol by duplicating certain scale layers in the wavelet instead of using unsharp mask and applying that to all scales.

I used this Bimp file above to sharpen the 200+ photos of cheerleaders at a football game found in the gallery below.
(It took my computer 45 minutes to complete this process.)

On the head shots, I sharpened them manually after editing by duplicating scale 1 and 2 in wavelet.

https://254allstars.smugmug.com/2019-College-Football-/102419-UMHB-Cheer/

No replies, maybe no BIMP users around.

Using Gimp 2.10 and the GEGL Unsharp-Mask ? Asking because the scale of parameters is very different between the old unsharp mask and the GEGL version. BIMP is now up to version 2.2 however earlier versions are ok.

The values shown in the BIMP script are small (pre-Gimp 2.10?) and difficult to see any effect.

Wavelet-Decompose: Your BIMP script only produces a single scale layer, manually you get three layers. Scale 1 - Residual - the image

From the way BIMP works Wavelet-Decompose is applied, that then becomes ‘the image’ and Unsharp Mask is applied to that. Not the same as sharpening Scale 1.