Webhosting, with letsencrypt

Hi!

I need to look for a new webhost for my (static) personal website, which includes my project Rapid Photo Downloader. I’ve been using DreamHost for the past 4 years but their price to me is set to rise dramatically to $214.80 for two years, so I’m looking at alternatives. Do folks around here have suggestions for a webhost that provides seamless letsencrypt integration?

I found a list of providers here: Let’s Encrypt Supported “Free SSL” Shared Hosting List

The only one of them that I’m familiar with on that list is SiteGround, who I used some years ago now.

Thanks in advance.

Right now I’m running my static sites on digital ocean, which offers a $5/mo VM. Vultr can get as cheap as $2.50/mo.

Possibly we could pull you onto the Stable Host site that currently hosts the pixls site, but I’ll defer to @patdavid on that.

2 Likes

Yes, I’d be happy to host on the stablehost web server we’re using for pixls.us (main site).

What would you need to host, just rsync access to a dir? Are you using a CI server to build things by chance?

If the traffic isn’t much we could also consider hosting on the discuss server, but I’ll want to ask @darix first.

1 Like

Hey thanks very much guys, it’s very kind of you. I actually got myself a Digital Ocean $5 a month instance recently so I could experiment with the VPN setup suggested by Jim Salter / Ars Technica. I just assumed needing to keep on top of keeping the bad guys out of the VM would mean using it for something serious like a web server would be a PITA. It’s been almost 15 years since I had to configure Apache. But maybe I should give it a go and see how it works out. If it proves stable and doesn’t suck up a lot of time then perhaps it will be fine.

I’d be happy to share my nginx config that works with the let’s encrypt client.