What is required to get a good starting point? (i.e. something close to the JPG from camera)

In the past I’ve asked for feedback regarding the steps to process pictures because by default the RAW image looks very different from the JPG that comes out of the camera.

While reading Darktable 2.4.0 release notes, I noticed the darktable-chart program, read a bit more about it and found @harry_durgin’s video on how to use it to apply a base curve that matches the colors from the camera.

Now, the first step to that process requires a pricey color checker (by the way, any recommendation on what color checker to get is more than welcome!), and since I’m a beginner I would like some input before digging in that direction.

So, if I want an out-of-the-box RAW file that looks close enough to the JPG from the camera:

• is that color checker + darktable-chart enough? Is there anything else that need to be done to have a good default starting point when editing RAW?
  • do I need to create a preset only once?
  • will shooting in very different conditions render this step useless? (for instance if I shot the color checker on a sunny day at noon as recommended, but then the photo I’m working on is shot at night in a candle-lit room)

I know the JPG from the camera is not necesarily the best output, but I’ve been using the same camera for five years and I think most of the time the JPG output is very good. It’s just that I would like to start from that point and make some adjustments and this is better achieved when using RAW…

Anyway, thanks for your feedback and happy holidays!

Can’t answer the questions since I don’t really go for the OOC jpeg look for starting point (prefer a more neutral starting point but YMMV) but for targets have a looks at http://www.targets.coloraid.de/ have ordered from there before and they seem to be ok.