Which workflow?

Hi,

I am new to open source software and wish to get my colour management as accurate as possible. I have settled on darktable and Gimp and have read up as much as I can on how to set them up. I’d be really interested to get the opinions on my workflow setup from those of you who have a lot more experience with these programs.

I use a MacBook running OS X 10.11.6 and have darktable 2.2.5 and Gimp 2.8.22. My main interest is putting images on the web.

I profiled my monitor using the Apple Display Calibrator Assistant and while I appreciate that it isn’t terribly sophisticated, it’s not an adjustable standalone monitor and actually, if I open a test image in Preview or in Gimp, it looks pretty good.

I profiled my camera, a Nikon D90, using the procedure outlined in Elle Stone’s excellent article on Profiling Your Digital Camera on her Nine Degrees Below website.

My settings are:

Darktable:
Input Color Profile: My Nikon D90 profile
Output Color Profile: sRGB-elle-V4-srgbtrc.icc (equivalent to the Gimp 2.8 working space)

Gimp:
RGB Profile: None
Monitor profile: sRGB IEC61966-2.1*

• I’m using this because if I use my monitor profile, when I open a file in Gimp it looks the same as it did in darktable but when I export it to a jpeg and view it in Preview or on a website via a browser, it looks desaturated. If I use this profile, when I open the file in Gimp, it appears desaturated right away, then if I process it to look right, then it exports OK.

Is this what you would expect to happen? Am I using the settings to best advantage? Any ideas for improvement?

1 Like

Hello and welcome!

Color management is quite difficult. If you’re primarily seeing the internet as your viewing platform, then sRBG is your best bet.

Your setting seem sound, however:

“Looking good” is not a proper test, calibration needs to be accurate, not look good.