Why does the initial profile say “Last Saved”?

I’m using the portable apps versions of RT. Different versions are used depending on whether the computer is 32bit or 64bit. I think Version 5.0… (RT50) is the last 32bit version and Version 5.3… (RT53) is what I now have for 64bit.

I’m pretty new to both RT and raw image editing and still trying to understand profiles. When I start RT50 and select a raw file that has never been processed by RT (i.e., there is no associated .pp3 file) the editor indicates that the applicable profile being used is the “Default” profile. This makes some sense even though I’m still trying to figure out how profiles work and what “Default” does. However, when I do the same thing using RT53 (i.e., raw file never processed by any version of RT and there is no associated .pp3 file) it indicates that the applicable profile is the “Last Saved” profile. Since I never did anything to save a profile this doesn’t make much sense even though I am having a hard time figuring out what causes the initial associated .pp3 file (i.e. profile) to be created.

Even though I don’t know much about them I noticed that these profiles are text files and therefore could be compared to each other. Here is a link which shows the differences in the case of the above described experiment.

Therefore I ask, why does the initial profile say “Last Saved”?

This also causes me to speculate that I could have problems switching back and forth between RT50 & RT53. What about that?

hi,

to summarise: the last saved thing is just a (minor?) glitch, the default profile is being applied. you can control what this profile does, please see rawpedia for that.

regarding switching between different versions, RT tries to maintain backward compatibility, so you can open a profile generated with version 5.0 in 5.3 just fine, but there’s no guarantee that the opposite is true…

Sorry it look like Dropbox messes with the HTML and the report isn’t of much use but I’ll look for a fix.