Why don't you shoot some male nudes?

First-off: this is not a reply to a former thread here. It is the question that comes up more than any other about my photography, and the fact that it was also mentioned in Elle’s thread made me think again: “No Men ?”

The truth is: no, no men for me.

I am not attracted by men and I lack the fantasy to “see” them in a sensual way. Sure, I could copy sets that I have shot with female models and do the same with a male model, but I’m afraid that it would be hard for me to judge the quality of our work. I have a certain idea of female beauty, of how I look at a woman and of the sensuality of women. But I don’t see any of this in a man or when looking at a man. This limits me as a photographer, makes me a one-trick-pony.

And I can live very well with that. I am an amateur and I only spend limited time on my photo hobby. As a matter of fact I spend WAY more time on the water, surfing, sailing, stand-up-paddling or kayaking than I spend behind the viewfinder of my camera. I spend more time with post-production than behind the viewfinder and I spend more time in forums than behind the viewfinder. Still I do not feel any need to become a more complete photographer. That very small niche I work in is already challenge enough.

Next to that comes the fact that nobody really cares for male nudes. Men like to look at women. That’s why photos of nude women attract numerous spectators. Photos of men attract no spectators at all. This is a shot of my son Adrian:

It’s technically OK, Adrian isn’t exactly ugly and the eyes make contact. The second photo shows Olivia, at 24 years of age she already has her MSc in informatics and started her second studies in applied physics when we met.