2 Suggestions for the PIXLS community

A Tutorials section

We have many interesting tutorials here in the forum (some tagged as such and some not). I would love to see them revamped and shiny in an own section, so that people looking for information can directly access them. the revamping could be a community effort (and I would gladly help) and would maybe include things like proof reading, correcting wrong explanations and maybe better image examples if necessary .

I know that when I started learning processing I desperately searched for well made, good looking and sorted tutorials.

This yould also be done in articles

A PIXLS.US youtube channel

A centralised place where software and/or topic related playlists could be made. I think the optimal candidate for thei channel would be @patdavid, as he already has a channel and creating a new one is easy :wink:

5 Likes

I always thought, though I’ve never discussed this with anyone else, that if you want things like proof reading, fact checking, and better stuff, that you should formalize it into an article on the main site, PIXLS.US - Articles

I’d be happy to help in the editing process & getting it into our website. I’ve tried to grab a forum post and formalize it a few times. Some I’m still working on.

Anyone is welcome to publish an article, the website is on github, or just ping me in the forum and I’ll get it set up for you (or anyone, and that includes a proof read).

There is also our tutorial tag at https://discuss.pixls.us/tags/tutorial

4 Likes

The tag I am aware off but if someone new is looking for tutorials I think it is easier to find them if they have a separate section (be it articles or whatever), than to first get accustomed with the forum and then search for tagged tutrials.

thanks for the hint, I wasn’t aware of that. The 7 year old school boy in me naively thought that some major powers (@patdavid, @paperdigits or other demigods ) decide what will become an article. :wink: