a library for each job

Hello everybody.
I started studying the darktable in order to get out of lightroom and maybe my way of thinking is wrong, so I need help.
I work mainly with wedding photography. In each event I capture from 4000 to 8000 raw images. In lightroom I create a new catalog for each event.
After each event I export the images and jpeg and move the raw ones to an external hard drive. I only revisit these images if a customer requests an adjustment or research for a photo that I didn’t deliver.
As I understand it, in the darktable there is only 1 library that will store everything, correct?
Is this method efficient for the amount of photos I take? as they reach 200,000 images a year and inevitably many will have the same name.
How is the correct procedure to work on my case?

you can switch the library on program start via command line parameters, see darktable 3.6 user manual - darktable
You can also just save the xmp sidecar file after each edit and save this with your raw files wherever you want. Then you simply can remove the images you don’t need from your database. On importing these images again, the edit settings will be taken from the xmp

2 Likes

Also note DT does not import your actual image just a reference to where it is located so your Database slash catalogue is not massive

1 Like

I use a library for every year, this method I used when I still was using Lightroom. There is no way visual way in DT to switch library (‘catalog’) but you can launch darktable from the command prompt/terminal with the --library /path/to/library/nameoflibrary.db parameter.

You can always make a shortcut on your desktop including the parameter

If the library doesn’t exist, Darktable will create one for you at that location.

I keep all my libraries in a DarktableLibrary folder. In this I have a 2021.db, 2020.db, etc etc

I don’t know if this makes it any faster to work with DT, I’m just very used to this way of working.

2 Likes