Advice for event shooting and processing the raw files

@Elle I am a fan of your website http://ninedegreesbelow.com/, though I have trouble grasping the more advanced concepts :sweat_smile:. In terms of dcraw-float, I really miss the -w option. I was wondering how I could modify the code to turn this back on (and whether doing so is advisable). This would save the step of having to query the multipliers using another program.

Hi @afre ,

Without going back and looking at the dcraw-float code, I think adding the -w option probably would be relatively easy. I say “relatively” because I’m not very good at writing c code, by which I mean I can write reasonably good c code but doing so takes me a very long time. Hopefully you are better at writing c code than I am.

I used to use dcraw-float all the time for pretty much all of my raw processing. Most of the time I prefer to process raw files at the command line because it’s easier and faster than opening a full-featured UI raw processor like darktable, RawTherapee, or PhotoFlow. UFRaw is fast when opening a raw file, and provides instant access to the RGB white balance multipliers, but last I checked it still doesn’t have true raw exposure compensation and doesn’t provide the AMAZE algorithm.

These days when I want to process raw files at the command line - which is almost always because currently everything I photograph is shot from a tripod making ev-bracketed exposures - I use darktable or the linear gamma branch of PhotoFlow, making use of their “command line” options. Both of these raw processors can output 32-bit floating point files working strictly from the command line. RawTherapee also can be used from the command line, though currently output is limited to 16i (same as dcraw-float output).