Advice on colour checkers

I’m thinking about buying a colour checker to create a profile in darktable for my camera. However, the tried-and-true ones are quite expensive where I live and, being an amateur, I cannot justify the costs. I have been thinking about getting one of the cheap chinese ones, but have no idea if they are worth anything.
Does anyone have experience with these cheap colour checkers? I know they will not be as precise as others, but do they get the job done?
Thanks.

The precision you need is between the target and and the reference file with the spectral values for each patch. The vendor measures their target’s patches to produce that file. If a vendor is saying their target matches the X-Rite Colorchecker spectral values, they’re probably BS-ing you…

2 Likes

Given how expensive these are, doesn’t anyone rent them?

The other thing I have to offer is that you want a matte finish. It’s hard enough to remove glare from a matte target, next to impossible with anything else.

Regarding rentals:

https://www.lensrentals.com/rent/x-rite-colorchecker-passport-photo

$24US for 7-day rental.

color calibration based on a color checker is just supported for calibrite/xrite and datacolor targets.
That’s more reliable than generating a custom camera profile since that’s also just valid in illumination situations comparable to the target shot.
If your sensor isn’t damaged and behaving quite different to the camera standard profile such one-size-fits-it-all icc file doesn’t give more precision in general

1 Like

Thanks. Is it possible to put this in plain English? I have an x-rite colour checker and have previously created camera profiles (since lost in a Darktable update) for my cameras following the process described in one of Aurelien’s videos. Are you saying it’s not worth doing? Thanks

DT just got support for the Spyder Checkr Photo, which I have seen for as little as 50€ on sale.