ART Color and Lens Profile

Hello,
I am new to ART - and already completely enthusiastic.
There are new cameras that none of the three big raw developers (ART, RT and dt) support properly, e.g. the Sony ZV1.
ART seems to be the only one that offers “embedded” in Color Management as a replacement. And also in Profiled Lens Correction: “Embedded in medadata”. (Unfortunately not the original ARW, but the DNG from dngconverter).
That is quite great.

My question: how good are these embedded setting? They seem to work very well for me - or is it better to get the appropriate profiles from somewhere?

Hi,
If the dng comes from the Adobe converter, the embedded settings are what Adobe puts there. So they are probably not the worst :slight_smile:

good, that’s very reassuring.
But, how come your ART is the only one that can do this “embedded”?

Rt can as well right ?

I’ve browsed for a DNG file before to use its matrix / profile in RT…

Hello @jorismak
What version of RT are you using? It definitely does not work for me. Here is a DNG, from Sony ZV1, made with dngconverter:
ZV100327.DNG (24.9 MB)

I don’t know… I compile it every once and again…
So, some sort of 5.9-dev version (it’s a long, long time since 5.8 was released).

You could browse for profiles, and then also select a DNG file instead of a dcp file, I believe.

If it does what you want or work on your file, :man_shrugging: .

my version 5.8 and also the AppImage 5.8-3161 cannot do this yet.

No clue if that’s new. I don’t think so, honestly. But I’m not realy up2speed at that stuff.
Also, don’t know if it’s the same as ART’s ‘embedded’.

1 Like

Use embedded, if possible

Yes, RT has this line, but it is always grayed out. You cannot select it.

You don’t have to. Look at jorismak’s last image: Select custom and choose the DNG. But I also don’t know why you have to make this detour.